Yamaha Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all ! I’m new to motorcycles I wanna restore one as my first bike probably a bad move but wanna restore my wife’s recently deceased grandfather’s bike. The grandmother doesn’t really know what type of model the bike is and she’s still trying to find the title of the bike but in the time being I would like to ask for some help.

I know the bike is pre1981 because of how many numbers are on the vin but personally can’t tell if it’s a YB100 or DX100 or it could be something else here’s some rough pictures of the bike.I also don’t know how to read the vin to help me find which model it is.
Automotive fuel system Vehicle Automotive tire Automotive lighting Automotive parking light
Tire Wheel Motorcycle Fuel tank Bicycle tire
Automotive parking light Tire Wheel Automotive lighting Hood
Motor vehicle Automotive design Automotive exterior Gas Auto part
Automotive tire Bumper Automotive exterior Rim Gas
Motor vehicle Vehicle Light Speedometer Gauge
Automotive tire Motor vehicle Automotive lighting Fender Gas
I’
Grille Hood Automotive lighting Vehicle Motor vehicle
Tire Automotive fuel system Motorcycle Automotive tire Hood

·
Administrator "Loose Nut" - From Houston, Texas
129 Posts
I'm usually pretty good at VIN numbers, wife works at a court house. Being a vintage bike we hit a brick wall. But found this on another forum. The number is good, I called, but closed on weekends.

Rectangle Font Circle Number Paper product

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I called the Yamaha rep they couldn’t find the vin but the close thing they can make out of it is 1976 RS100 and I think they got it right.

·
Registered
1 Posts