Yamaha Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I took my 2000 XL Limited 1200 to a highly recommended shop in early August due to EXHST error and beeping. I'm not a mechanic whatsoever, but my son is pretty comfortable with vehicles, little experience with watercraft. His research as well as shop's thoughts were the problem was related to cat, and a d-plate etc should fix it. {Sorry, as I said, I'm not a mechanic.} The shop said parts would be around $115 (in stock) and quick to do so "not much labor", however they were backlogged and it would be 2.5-3 weeks after drop-off so around Aug 28. In Sept they asked permission to dig into it a little more, saying it would be minimal extra cost, to make sure there weren't other problems that would show up after exhaust problem fixed. A month later they said the cylinder compression was 60, 85 and 95 lbs, $3800-$4000 for new top end and rebuild carbs, with no warranty because the bottom end could go out and take the top with it. So I should be prepared for $5000-$6000 depending on what they see once they start, if authorized to start. I asked my son to stop by and talk-the-mechanic-talk with them, look at machine; and he said it turned strange when my name was mentioned as the machine owner; suddenly the shop guy said they needed to close early (right then) and my son would have to come back another day. My son is 300 miles away now and can't do it again. I'm unsure what do do now. It is a nice machine, I don't know about it's value in comparison to the unknown cost to go forward with repairs. I'm wondering if I'd be better off putting the money towards a newer, value-oriented machine since I'm not into high speed or fancy options. Is there a market among talented do-it-yourselfers for machines needing work? Opinions, suggestions, or offers appreciated! Water Watercraft Jet ski Vehicle Boat

·
Super Moderator
452 Posts