Yamaha Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am by no means an expert on carbs and this one has a serious lack of how to videos to help guide me. This carb, 1982 virago xv750, was in desperate need of a rebuild. Sat for +10 years and was completely gummed up. I cleaned it, soaked whole carb, never broke the dual linkage apart. Replaced the parts from the rebuild kit and reinstalled on the motor. I was able to get the motor to run about 2 years ago but was really rough and wouldn't idle. After the carb rebuild it wont try to start at all. I'm going to loosen the pilot screw because I know I overtightened it (bottomed it out). Would this stop the motor from starting at all or do I have another issue? I'm going to make sure I have spark and everything tomorrow. Also going to verify the floats are installed properly (pretty sure they are but maybe I spaced) and gonna grab some starter fluid and see if it kicks at all. Trying to rule some stuff out but I would think its a carb issue since its what I messed with. Thanks for your insight.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Update. Got it started. Wont start unless im giving it some gas. Cant tighten idle screw enough to keep at idle. Not sure what i need to adjust on carb. Gonna do some research. let me know if you got an idea.

·
Administrator "Loose Nut" - From Houston, Texas
198 Posts
How far out are the PSM screws? Did you clean the small holes on the pilot jets? Did the float jets have a bounce to them? Did you bench sync the carbs? Are you trying to start with air box on or off? There's restriction to the air box that will effect the bike without it on.

·
Registered
2 Posts